New Year, New Book.

I’m not really one for New Year’s resolutions. By my age, they tend to have become a bit repetitive both in terms of content, and in not keeping them.

But I do like to start my new writing year with a clean slate. So behold, the freshly cleaned corner of the room that is almost my own:

desk

 

(In hindsight, the husband really did need to take over the other corner of this room, but oh, the angst of losing supremacy over my domain!)

On the writing front, Book Two of my series (alas, I’ve yet to be struck with inspiration for a title) is coming along nicely. I’ve written the first five chapters (super shitty first draft I’m afraid, but even craptastic words on the page are better than none) and this week I’ve been busy brainstorming and outlining the rest of it. I’m about 70% done in that respect, and am pretty chuffed to have got to such a point at this time of the year. I think my success is due in part to my Christmas presents: the gorgeous big monitor you can see on my desk, and the brand new keyboard that doesn’t randomly lock up. No more stiff neck and strained eyes from looking down at my laptop screen, and far fewer frustrations, all rolled into one!

 

CLOS UP DESK

 

(In case you’re wondering, the image on my screen is an 1894 painting by Jean Beraud, “La Meditation”. She’s always reminded me of my main character, Olivia Stone).

So.  A new year, a clean desk, plot points and plot twists percolating away nicely … all in all, it’s a great start to 2016, and I plan to do all I can to keep things going this way.

How about you? Have you made any New Year’s writing resolutions?

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “New Year, New Book.

  1. Ooh, love your writing nook. I need to create one for myself; having just a laptop or an iPad carted from room to room isn’t really working anymore. I want to fill up a corkboard with images and maps!
    I thought your monitor was another image you’d taped up — it’s huge!
    Love finding inspiration in older paintings 🙂

    • Happy New Year, Deniz!
      Yes, if it’s at all possible to create one, a dedicated writing space is sooo good. No need to constantly pack up your work, and it can be as messy or tidy as you need it to be. I hope you get one of your own this year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

